natural concussion remedies that helped me.

natural concussion remedies that helped me.

Recently, I gave myself a touch of concussion . . .

How, you say? Well, I wish it were something awesome. Like maybe saving a baby from rolling into traffic, or hitting my head on a rock underwater in the torrent of some epic wave, or even on the edge of a plane while skydiving! Okay, that last one sounds a bit too extreme, but you get the idea. The real culprit here was in fact myself. I was not paying attention.

I was in the kitchen cooking. It was a normal day, under totally normal circumstances. I just bent over to pick something up off the floor and stood up and the edge of the granite countertop met me square in the middle of the top of my head–hard. There was no loss of consciousness, only a very confused and dazed moment in which I didn’t know what exactly had just happened. Cool, right?

But that’s the thing! I think it’s important for people to know that concussions don’t always have to come from glorified head-hits on the football field. They can result from something as small as tripping over your dog in the hallway and bumping your head on the wall, or you know, the granite countertop.

A concussion is like a bruise on your brain. It happens because some sudden collision caused your brain to slam into your skull. Im my case, I found myself unable to recall small details of the preceding weekend, I was nauseous on and off for about three days, my eyesight and thoughts were foggy, and I had a consistent, pounding headache.

In my journey to return back to a natural state of living, I’ve found myself painkiller free for over two years. This is a big realization for me, considering that I remember a year when I took Ibuprofen on a daily basis. I took it for every ache. You know what was amazing? When I stopped taking the little gel capsules, I stopped getting headaches, and my pain tolerance turned into, well, more of a tolerance.

Concussions are a different story. Your brain is incredibly important, and it can be extremely frustrating when it’s not operating the way you’re used to. Shout out to my friends and boyfriend for putting up with me and my “eh,” “ums,” and long pauses that usually only led to me not remembering what I was talking about only moments before. I still wanted to heal naturally, so I did some research, and here’s what I found:

1) Double up on your dose of Omega-3, immediately. 

One of the articles that I originally read recommended fish oil, but I did some of my own research and found that Hemp Oil can be just as affective without the questionable fish aspect. Because I don’t regularly consume this oil, I decided to take two tablespoons a day, instead of doubling the recommended three. You’ll want to do this up to seven days after your head injury. This helps to decrease brain inflammation which can cause much of the fogginess, memory loss and headaches that come from concussions. WARNING, this step is only if you have no evidence of bleeding in your brain. If you do . . . you should see a doctor.

2) Fluids and antioxidants are your friends!

Drink lots of water so that the healing process is quicker. Incorporate a lot of healthy proteins into your diet (Hemp Seeds cover both the protein and Omega-3! Just a thought.) I knew this going into the research, but what I didn’t think about was the antioxidants. Blueberries are especially helpful to the healing process because they contain a potent flavonoid antioxidant that helps in strengthening blood vessel walls. I went to my local health food store, Brighter Day in Savannah, and found that they carry  fresh, cold-pressed pure blueberry juice and I drank a small glass every day. Whole blueberries work too.

3) Arnica tablets . . . 

This is a step that I didn’t personally follow, mostly because they were expensive and I’m a poor college student. Arnica is available in both cream and pellet forms. The pellets will help ease the pain, as well as work to internally heal the bruising on your brain. It’s recommended that you take three tablets under your tongue as soon as possible after the accident, and then continue this dosage every hour for the first day, and reduce the frequency in the consecutive two or three days.

My symptoms persisted for around a week, maybe a week and a half. Everyone is different, though. Some people might experience years of symptoms, whereas others may never experience any symptoms at all.

A good article on how to tell if you have a concussion at home, written by an actual doctor that is much more qualified than I can be found here, http://www.thesurvivaldoctor.com/2012/09/13/do-you-have-a-concussion/

Just remember! You’re in the danger zone for at least 48 hours after you hit your head, and should be monitored closely. There’s always the chance of internal bleeding in the brain.

Have any other helpful suggestions? Comment below, or just stop by to say hey!

DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor, nor am I qualified to give medical advice. This is just something that helped me personally, and has been known to help others in their healing processes, and I hope it helps you as well. You assume full responsibility for how you choose to use this information.

Leave a Reply

